Skip to content

Vegan MoFo Day Two!

November 2, 2010

I have a weird obsession with Polynesian food dating back to my childhood, when we used to regularly go to a Tiki bar in Nashua, NH that was later turned into a generic Grand Buffet. How obsessed, you ask? I am the only person I know who has ordered a pupu platter and hibachi from a restaurant supply catalog. Of course I had to break it out for Halloween.

This time around I used samosas and spring rolls from my local Asian market, with the addition of homemade veganized crab rangoons. These are very simple, just Twin Marquis brand wonton wrappers filled with vegan cream cheese, scallions, a dash of soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce (Annie’s brand is vegan), and a tiny bit of crumbled nori. You can customize these however you want (curry maybe?). I baked these in a mini muffin tin like a namby-pamby, but once I conquer my fear of deep frying I will never look back I am sure.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 5:53 pm

    One of my brother’s life ambitions is to have a tiki bar in his backyard. Your crab rangoons look great!

Leave a Reply

